Power Square Mall replies to common customer reviews

You may have noticed that Power Square gets a variety of reviews. Some love us, others . . . not so much. We would like to take the opportunity to address some common concerns. Some of what you read below may be repeated; this is to emphasize certain points and also allow the reader to see the reply to their specific feedback if they want to.

Quite a few complaints would be resolved or directed to a more accountable party if the individual leaving the review had a better understanding of retail and commercial rentals. As a mall or commercial building our primary business operations involve renting the space to tenants and maintaining the common areas. We don’t tell our tenants how to run their businesses. We are simply happy that they are renting the space and expect them to uphold their rental agreement in its entirety. All reviews for the mall should be regarding these specific operations because all other complaints or praise should be directed to the specific business within the mall, whom we refer to as our tenants.

We may share a parking lot with other establishments, but any establishment outside of our building is not part of the mall.

The commercial rentals industry can have bureaucratic issues since quite a few parties can be involved when anything is changed to the building or to the operations of the building. An example of an internal bureaucratic issue might be between the owner of the building and the property management company or between the property management company and their employees, or between the building and the tenants. An example of an external bureaucratic issue is getting city permits and approvals when any construction occurs. We will not go into any further details regarding operations because that is not public business, but we do appreciate your patience and understanding since in many cases there could be underlying issues that have to be addressed before we can address some complaints that may seem overly simple to outsiders. We do our best to control the factors that are in our control.

We promise that we are always working to reduce vacancies within the mall, upgrade the appearance of the property, keep the property well maintained, provide a safe shopping environment, and improve the overall experience for you. We also hope that you will not judge the entire mall or other tenants based on the action or inaction of one tenant.

Renting retail space is virtually the same for an indoor mall as it is for an outdoor mall. Technically any shopping center is a mall or mini-mall. Yet an indoor mall seems to be judged differently for vacancies. Please recognize what we have and the value that is there since we do indeed have many excellent tenants with good businesses. Enjoy the air conditioned environment between stores, which to us would seem like a high value feature in Arizona, which is not available with outdoor malls, and is one of the greatest operational costs that most people don’t consider when they are commenting on the décor or the paint job.

All businesses provide products or services to a specific audience. While you might not fall into the audience of one business, another could easily be looking to specifically serve you. If none of our tenants appeal to you, then we don’t expect you to come to the mall until we sign a tenant who does. By stating that we are not trying to dissuade you from visiting us, but it’s simply a fact that we recognize as a natural result. If a particular audience is not served, they don’t come. But when an audience who is not meant to be served comes and criticizes us for not serving them, we really don’t know how to respond, other than to ask you what stores you would like us to try to get here. Remember our business is to rent the space. By sharing that information it actually helps us to sign the specific tenants you’d like because we use that as evidence that they should rent with us and it helps to convince them to sign with us.

We also hope the public will work with us and recognize that leaving multiple negative reviews creates a major catch-22 situation. If the mall gets negative reviews because we have vacancies, potential tenants see the negative reviews and decide not to sign with us. It’s quite common for consumers to leave reviews and forget it; yet a review left 2 years ago can influence the decision of a current potential tenant even if the reason the review was left becomes obsolete. Instead of leaving the review publicly, please submit a request for a specific store or type of store using any contact method that is available on our website. Just submitting the request doesn’t guarantee that they will come. But trust us, in most cases whoever you want to move in, we want them here just as much as you do until we have no vacancies.

Here are some of the more common complaints which are noted and acknowledged:

 

There are so many vacancies; there’s hardly anything here; there’s nothing left.

We are always doing all we can to reduce vacancies. Trust us, as a mall who’s business benefits from renting to tenants we want to reduce the vacancies just as much as you do, maybe even more.

We hope the public will work with us and recognize that leaving negative reviews for vacancies creates a major catch-22 for us, since the negative reviews can dissuade tenants from signing with us.

We are open to feedback on which stores you would like us to reach out to. This can be submitted privately through any contact information available on our website. We read and consider all submissions. Suggesting a specific store will not guarantee that they will move in, but having your feedback as evidence certainly helps to persuade them.

Renting retail space is virtually the same for an indoor mall as it is for an outdoor mall, yet somehow an indoor mall is judged differently for vacancies. We hope you enjoy the air-conditioned environment as you shop between stores, which we’d think is a high-value feature in Arizona and one of our largest operational costs.

As of this writing we have 16 spaces available and 15 of those spaces are rented. That means 94% of the space is rented and 6% (1 space) is vacant. Please see us for what we are and not what we are not.

 

It’s not a mall anymore; it’s just a storage place now; half the mall is now storage

Our primary business is to rent the space. If a storage company comes in and says they want to rent half the mall then we are happy to comply. The other half is still retail shopping space.

We invite you to still enjoy the shopping area still available on the northwest side of the mall. We understand that not every business serves every audience, but for someone who is not meant to be served to come and rate us poorly for not serving them is kind of harsh. We can’t force a business to serve you any more than we can force you to use storage when you don’t need it. It’s kind of like a baseball card enthusiast going to a flower shop and complaining that there are no baseball cards.

If you happen to need storage then check them out; it’s a really nice facility.

 

Outdated, looks old

Renting retail space is virtually the same for an indoor mall as it is for an outdoor mall, yet somehow an indoor mall is judged differently. We hope you enjoy the air-conditioned environment as you shop between stores, which we’d think is a high-value feature in Arizona and one of our largest operational costs, which we would hope you consider when commenting on the paint or decor. We are aware that parts of the mall need to be updated and we are working to upgrade the property. We appreciate your patience as we work with the city and contractors to make this happen, although the process can be lengthy (as anyone who has ever built or remodeled a home or commercial space can attest).

 

Boring, nothing there for me

All businesses provide products or services to a specific audience. While you might not fall into the audience of one business, another could easily be looking to specifically serve you. If none of our tenants appeal to you, then we don’t expect you to come to the mall until we sign a tenant who does. By stating this we are not trying to dissuade you from visiting us, but it’s simply a fact that we recognize as a natural result. If a particular audience is not served, they don’t come. But when an audience who is not meant to be served comes and criticizes us for not serving them, we really don’t know how to respond, other than to ask you what stores you would like us to try to get here. By sharing that information it actually helps us to sign the specific tenants you’d like because we use that as evidence that they should rent with us and it helps to convince them to sign with us.

We understand that not every business serves every audience, but for someone who is not meant to be served to come and rate us poorly for not serving them is kind of harsh. We can’t force a business to serve you any more than we can force you to use a business that you don’t need. It’s kind of like a baseball card enthusiast going to a flower shop and complaining that there are no baseball cards.

 

Kind of empty, not a lot of stores open, mostly closed

We are addressing this comment separately from vacancies. If you were specifically referring to any vacancies please see our response about vacancies.

As a mall we can only determine when the mall is open, meaning the outer doors. We do not tell our tenants how to run their businesses. If the mall is open but a tenant is closed, then please provide feedback for that tenant or business specifically (on their specific business pages or profiles, not the mall’s as the mall doesn’t determine when they are open). Yet we encourage you to reach out to them privately before posting a public review. Aren’t business owners allowed to have a day off every once in a while? If every store is closed simultaneously there’s probably a reason for it (such as a worldwide pandemic or a natural disaster which floods half the building; both of those have happened).

 

Mall hours, website says they open at 10 but stores don’t open until 11

As a mall we can only determine when the mall is open, meaning the outer doors. We do not tell our tenants how to run their businesses. If the mall is open but a tenant is closed please provide feedback for that tenant or business specifically. Yet we encourage you to reach out to them privately before posting a public review. Aren’t business owners allowed to have a day off every once in a while?

 

The person in so and so store was rude to me, went to this store but they didn’t have what I wanted, anything within a specific store.

As a mall our primary business operations are renting the space and maintaining the common areas. If you have a complaint (or praise) for any of our tenants then we invite you to provide that feedback to them directly (on their specific business pages or profiles, not the mall’s as the mall doesn’t determine the customer service operations of each tenant). We do not tell our tenants how to run their business.

We may share a parking lot with other establishments, but any establishment outside of our building is not part of the mall.

 

COVID issues

We will do all we can to make the mall a safe shopping environment, which means complying with the guidelines provided by government and health agencies. As a mall we only have control over the common areas, we do not tell our tenants how to run their businesses and we certainly do not control every action by those who patron the mall. We invite you to also apply considerate and healthy practices to protect yourself and neighbors from COVID-19.

 

Poor ratings without comments

We are sorry you had a bad experience. With no comment it’s hard to know what your actual complaint is. If you have a reason for the poor rating, please tell us and we’ll do our best to address it. (Nicer if you tell us in private). See replies to common complaints on our blog.

 

All positive ratings (of which there are many more than negative, the point of this article is not to skew perception, only to address certain issues)

We thank you so much for your patronage to the mall. We will continue to do all we can to make your shopping experience an enjoyable one. If you have praise for a specific tenant please leave a positive review for them on their specific pages and profiles (Facebook, Google, whatever). Even in praise we wish to distinguish that our role is to rent the space and maintain the building. If a particular tenant has offered excellent service or products then they deserve the praise individually.